CINTAS CORP
For the period ended May 31, 2025. Filed Jul 28, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2025 · Filed Jul 28, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-05-31; filed 2024-07-25.
0000723254-24-000036
Item 7. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-05-31; filed 2025-07-28.
0000723254-25-000017
Item 7. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 80 previous paragraphs and 82 current paragraphs.
48 unchanged; 29 reworded; 3 added; 3 removed; 0 previous and 2 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 11 previous and 11 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (3)
Current report
Selling and administrative expenses increased $196.7 million, to 27.2% as a percent of revenue, compared to 27.3% in fiscal 2024. In fiscal 2025 we recorded a $15 million gain on a sale of property, and in fiscal 2024 we recorded $15 million associated with a legal settlement, both of which impacted all segments by the same percent of revenue. Excluding those items, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue increased from fiscal 2024 to fiscal 2025. The resulting increase as a percent of revenue was primarily due to investments in technology and additional selling resources.
Current report
Selling and administrative expenses for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased by $48.4 million, or 13.7%, in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 33.0% in fiscal 2025 compared to 33.1% in fiscal 2024. Excluding the items noted previously, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue were largely consistent as compared to the prior fiscal year.
Current report
In November 2024, the FASB issued ASU 2024-03, Income Statement - Reporting Comprehensive Income - Expense Disaggregation Disclosures (Subtopic 220-40): Disaggregation of Income Statement Expenses (ASU 2024-03), which requires, among other items, additional disaggregated disclosures in the notes to financial statements for certain categories of expenses that are included on the face of the statement of income. ASU 2024-03 is effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2026 (fiscal 2028), and for interim periods within fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2027 (fiscal 2029), with early adoption permitted. The Company is currently evaluating the impact of ASU 2024-03 on the consolidated financial statements.
Removed paragraphs (3)
Previous report
Selling and administrative expenses increased $247.1 million, to 27.3% as a percent of revenue, compared to 26.9% in fiscal 2023. The change as a percent of revenue was primarily due to investing in additional selling resources, investing in our management trainee program, expanding our talent acquisition efforts for future growth, as well as costs associated with a tentative legal settlement discussed in Note 15 entitled Litigation and Other Contingencies of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements."
Previous report
Selling and administrative expenses for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased by $52.1 million, or 17.3%, in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023, and increased as a percent of revenue to 33.1% in fiscal 2024 compared to 31.7% in fiscal 2023. The change as a percent of revenue was primarily due to increases in labor and other employee-partner related expenses, including investing in additional selling resources for future growth.
Previous report
Goodwill. Goodwill, obtained through acquisitions of businesses, is valued at cost less any impairment. Cintas completes an annual impairment test that includes an assessment of qualitative factors, and quantitative, if necessary, including, but not limited to, macroeconomic conditions, industry and market conditions and entity specific factors such as strategies and financial performance. We test for goodwill impairment at the reporting unit level. Cintas has identified four reporting units for purposes of evaluating goodwill impairment: Uniform Rental and Facility Services, First Aid and Safety Services and two reporting units within All Other. Based on the results of the annual impairment tests, Cintas was not required to recognize an impairment of goodwill for the fiscal years ended May 31, 2024, 2023 or 2022. Cintas will continue to perform impairment tests as of March 1 in future years and when indicators of impairment exist.
Reworded paragraphs (29)
Previous wording
Cintas helps more than one million businesses of all types and sizes, primarily in the U.S., as well as Canada and Latin America, get READY™ to open their doors with confidence every day by providing a wide range of products and services that enhance our customers’ image and help keep their facilities and employees clean, safe and looking their best. With products and services including uniforms, mats, mops, restroom supplies, first aid and safety products, fire extinguishers and testing, and safety training, Cintas helps customers get Ready for the Workday®.
Current wording
Cintas helps more than one million businesses of all types and sizes, primarily in the U.S., as well as Canada and Latin America, get READY™ to open their doors with confidence every day by providing a wide range of products and services that enhance our customers’ image and help keep their facilities and employees clean, safe and looking their best. With products and services including uniforms, mats, mops, shop towels, restroom supplies, workplace water services, first aid and safety products, eye-wash stations, safety training, fire extinguishers, sprinkler systems and alarm services, Cintas helps customers get Ready for the Workday®.
Previous wording
Cintas classifies its business into two reportable operating segments and places the remainder of its operating segments in an All Other category. Cintas’ two reportable operating segments are Uniform Rental and Facility Services and First Aid and Safety Services. The Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment consists of the rental and servicing of uniforms and other garments including flame resistant clothing, mats, mops and shop towels and other ancillary items. In addition to these rental items, restroom cleaning services and supplies and the sale of items from our catalogs to our customers on route are included within this reportable operating segment. The First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment consists of first aid and safety products and services. The remainder of Cintas’ business, which consists of the Fire Protection Services operating segment and the Uniform Direct Sale operating segment, is included in All Other. These operating segments consist of fire protection products and services and the direct sale of uniforms and related items. Cintas evaluates operating segment performance based on revenue and operating income. Revenue and operating income for the reportable operating segments for the fiscal years ended May 31, 2024, 2023 and 2022 are presented in Note 14 entitled Operating Segment Information of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements." The Company regularly reviews its operating segments for reporting purposes based on the information its chief operating decision maker regularly reviews for purposes of allocating resources and assessing performance and makes changes when appropriate.
Current wording
Cintas classifies its business into two reportable operating segments and places the remainder of its operating segments in an All Other category. Cintas’ two reportable operating segments are Uniform Rental and Facility Services and First Aid and Safety Services. The Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment consists of the rental and servicing of uniforms and other garments including flame resistant clothing, mats, mops and shop towels and other ancillary items. In addition to these rental items, restroom cleaning services and supplies and the sale of items from our catalogs to our customers on route are included within this reportable operating segment. The First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment consists of first aid and safety products and services, as well as workplace water services. The remainder of Cintas’ business, which consists of the Fire Protection Services operating segment and the Uniform Direct Sale operating segment, is included in All Other. These operating segments consist of fire protection products and services and the direct sale of uniforms and related items. Cintas evaluates operating segment performance based on revenue and operating income. Revenue and operating income for the reportable operating segments for the fiscal years ended May 31, 2025, 2024 and 2023 are presented in Note 14 entitled Operating Segment Information of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements." The Company regularly reviews its operating segments for reporting purposes based on the information its chief operating decision maker (CODM) regularly reviews for purposes of allocating resources and assessing performance and makes changes when appropriate.
Previous wording
Fiscal 2024 total revenue was $9.6 billion, an increase of 8.9% over the prior fiscal year. Revenue increased organically by 8.0% primarily as a result of increased sales volume. Organic revenue growth adjusts for the impact of acquisitions, workday differences and foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Total revenue was positively impacted by 0.4% due to acquisitions and by 0.5% due to one more workday in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023.
Current wording
Fiscal 2025 total revenue was $10.3 billion, an increase of 7.7% over the prior fiscal year. Revenue increased organically by 8.0% primarily as a result of increased sales volume. Organic revenue growth adjusts for the impact of acquisitions, workday differences and foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Total revenue was positively impacted by 0.8% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.2% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations.
Previous wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue consists predominantly of revenue derived from the rental of corporate identity uniforms and other garments, including flame resistant clothing and the rental and/or sale of mats, mops, shop towels, restroom supplies and other rental services. Revenue from the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased 8.2%, to $7,465.2 million compared to $6,897.1 million in fiscal 2023. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 7.4%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.4% due to acquisitions and 0.4% due to one more workday in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023. Revenue growth was a result of new business, the penetration of additional products and services into existing customers and price increases, partially offset by lost business. New business growth resulted from an increase in the number and productivity of sales representatives. Generally, sales productivity improvements are due to increased tenure and improved training, which produce a higher number of products and services sold.
Current wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue consists predominantly of revenue derived from the rental of corporate identity uniforms and other garments, including flame resistant clothing and the rental and/or sale of mats, mops, shop towels, restroom supplies and other rental services. Revenue from the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased 6.8%, to $7,976.1 million compared to $7,465.2 million in fiscal 2024. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 7.0%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.8% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Revenue growth was a result of new business, the penetration of additional products and services into existing customers and price increases, partially offset by lost business. New business growth resulted from an increase in the number and productivity of sales representatives. Generally, sales productivity improvements are due to increased tenure and improved training, which produce a higher number of products and services sold.
Previous wording
Other revenue, consisting of revenue from the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other, increased 11.1%, to $2,131.4 million compared to $1,918.6 million in fiscal 2023. Revenue improved from increases in sales representative productivity and price increases. Revenue increased organically by 10.2%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.5% due to acquisitions and by 0.4% due to one more workday in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023.
Current wording
Other revenue, consisting of revenue from the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other, increased 10.9%, to $2,364.1 million compared to $2,131.4 million in fiscal 2024. Revenue improved from increases in sales representative productivity and price increases. Revenue increased organically by 11.3%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.6% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations.
Previous wording
Cost of uniform rental and facility services increased 6.4% compared to fiscal 2023. Cost of uniform rental and facility services consists primarily of production expenses, delivery expenses and the amortization of in-service inventory, including uniforms, mats, shop towels and other ancillary items. The change from the prior year was primarily due to higher Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment sales volume, as well as an increase in material cost to support increased revenue growth. The cost of uniform rental and facility services as a percent of revenue improved compared to fiscal 2023 from 52.7% to 51.8% primarily due to efficiency gains in energy usage, more efficient use of in-service inventory, and improved leverage of fixed costs.
Current wording
Cost of uniform rental and facility services increased 4.5% compared to fiscal 2024. Cost of uniform rental and facility services consists primarily of production expenses, delivery expenses and the amortization of in-service inventory, including uniforms, mats, shop towels and other ancillary items. The change from the prior year was primarily due to higher Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment sales volume, as well as an increase in material cost to support increased revenue growth. The cost of uniform rental and facility services as a percent of revenue improved compared to fiscal 2024 from 51.8% to 50.7% primarily due to efficiency gains in energy usage, more efficient use of in-service inventory and production efficiency gains.
Previous wording
Cost of other consists primarily of cost of goods sold (predominantly first aid and safety products, personal protective equipment, uniforms and fire protection products), delivery expenses and distribution expenses in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other. Cost of other increased 3.5% in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023, as a result of higher other revenue, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 49.0%, compared to 52.7% in fiscal 2023. The improvement in cost of sales as a percent to revenue was primarily due to favorable changes in the sales mix and sourcing and productivity initiatives in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment as well as improved leverage of fixed costs for both the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other.
Current wording
Cost of other consists primarily of cost of goods sold (predominantly first aid and safety products, personal protective equipment, uniforms and fire protection products), delivery expenses and distribution expenses in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other. Cost of other increased 7.7% in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024, as a result of higher other revenue, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 47.6%, compared to 49.0% in fiscal 2024. The improvement in cost of sales as a percent to revenue was primarily due to favorable changes in the sales mix and sourcing and productivity initiatives in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment.
Previous wording
Net interest expense (interest expense less interest income) was $95.0 million in fiscal 2024 compared to $109.5 million in fiscal 2023. The change was primarily due to a decrease in the average amount of outstanding debt during fiscal 2024.
Current wording
Net interest expense (interest expense less interest income) was $95.5 million in fiscal 2025 compared to $95.0 million in fiscal 2024. Net interest expense was the same as a percent of revenue.
Previous wording
Income before income taxes was $1,973.6 million, an increase of $280.5 million, or 16.6%, compared to fiscal 2023. The increase in income before income taxes was primarily due to revenue growth, as well as the improvements in gross margin previously mentioned, which were partially offset by the change in selling and administrative expenses.
Current wording
Income before income taxes was $2,264.2 million, an increase of $290.6 million, or 14.7%, compared to fiscal 2024. The increase in income before income taxes was primarily due to revenue growth, as well as the improvements in gross margin previously mentioned.
Previous wording
Cintas' effective tax rate for both fiscal 2024 and fiscal 2023 was 20.4%. The effective tax rate in both periods was impacted by certain discrete items, primarily the tax accounting impact for stock-based compensation.
Current wording
Cintas' effective tax rate for fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024 was 20.0% and 20.4%, respectively. The effective tax rate in both periods was impacted by certain discrete items, primarily the tax accounting impact for stock-based compensation.
Previous wording
Net income for fiscal 2024 of $1,571.6 million was a 16.6% increase compared to fiscal 2023. Diluted earnings per share of $15.15 was a 16.6% increase compared to fiscal 2023 diluted earnings per share of $12.99. Diluted earnings per share increased primarily due to the increase in net income.
Current wording
Net income for fiscal 2025 of $1,812.3 million was a 15.3% increase compared to fiscal 2024. Diluted earnings per share of $4.40 was a 16.1% increase compared to fiscal 2024 diluted earnings per share of $3.79. Diluted earnings per share increased primarily due to the increase in net income.
Previous wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $568.1 million, or 8.2%, and the cost of uniform rental and facility services increased $232.9 million, or 6.4%, due to the reasons previously discussed. The reportable operating segment's fiscal 2024 gross margin was 48.2% of revenue compared to 47.3% in fiscal 2023. The improvement in gross margin was primarily the result of efficiency gains in energy usage, more efficient use of in-service inventory, and improved leverage of fixed costs.
Current wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $510.9 million, or 6.8%, and the cost of uniform rental and facility services increased $175.8 million, or 4.5%, due to the reasons previously discussed. The reportable operating segment's fiscal 2025 gross margin was 49.3% of revenue compared to 48.2% in fiscal 2024. The improvement in gross margin was primarily due to efficiency gains in energy usage, more efficient use of in-service inventory and production efficiency gains.
Previous wording
Selling and administrative expenses for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $154.4 million in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023 in order to support revenue growth as well as invest in technology and selling resources. Selling and administrative expense as a percent of revenue for fiscal 2024 was 26.0% compared to 25.9% in fiscal 2023. As a percent of revenue, selling and administrative expenses were largely consistent as compared to the prior fiscal year.
Current wording
Selling and administrative expenses for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $121.2 million in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 in order to support revenue growth as well as invest in technology and selling resources. Selling and administrative expense as a percent of revenue for fiscal 2025 was 25.8% compared to 26.0% in fiscal 2024. Excluding the items noted previously, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue were largely consistent as compared to the prior fiscal year.
Previous wording
Income before income taxes for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $180.7 million, or 12.2%, for fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023. The increase in income before income taxes was due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin. Income before income taxes as a percent of revenue was 22.2% compared to 21.4% in fiscal 2023. The improvement over the prior fiscal year was primarily a result of the previously discussed improvement in gross margin.
Current wording
Income before income taxes for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $213.9 million, or 12.9%, for fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024. The increase in income before income taxes was due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin. Income before income taxes as a percent of revenue was 23.5% compared to 22.2% in fiscal 2024. The improvement over the prior fiscal year was primarily a result of the previously discussed improvement in gross margin.
Previous wording
First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $115.8 million in fiscal 2024, a 12.2% increase compared to fiscal 2023. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 11.6%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.2% due to acquisitions, positively impacted by 0.5% due to one more workday in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. The increase in revenue was driven by many factors including increases in new business sold by sales representatives, penetration of additional products and services into existing customers, price increases and strong customer retention.
Current wording
First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $150.8 million in fiscal 2025, a 14.1% increase compared to fiscal 2024. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 15.0%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.1% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. The increase in revenue was driven by many factors including increases in new business sold by sales representatives, penetration of additional products and services into existing customers, price increases and strong customer retention.
Previous wording
Cost of sales for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased $5.3 million, or 1.1%, in fiscal 2024, due to higher sales volume. Gross margin for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment is defined as revenue less cost of goods, warehouse expenses and service expenses. Gross margin as a percent of revenue was 55.5% for fiscal 2024 compared to 50.7% in fiscal 2023. The improvement in gross margin as a percent of revenue was primarily driven by favorable changes in the sales mix, sourcing and productivity initiatives, as well as improved leverage of fixed costs and a reduction in energy expense as a percent of revenue.
Current wording
Cost of sales for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased $46.8 million, or 9.9%, in fiscal 2025, due to higher sales volume. Gross margin for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment is defined as revenue less cost of goods, warehouse expenses and service expenses. Gross margin as a percent of revenue was 57.2% for fiscal 2025 compared to 55.5% in fiscal 2024. The improvement in gross margin as a percent of revenue was primarily driven by favorable changes in the sales mix, sourcing and productivity initiatives, as well as improved leverage of fixed costs and a reduction in energy expense as a percent of revenue.
Previous wording
Income before income taxes for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment was $239.2 million in fiscal 2024, an increase of $58.5 million, or 32.4%, compared to fiscal 2023. Income before income taxes as a percent of revenue at 22.4%, increased from 19.0% in fiscal 2023 due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin, partially offset by the change in selling and administrative expenses.
Current wording
Income before income taxes for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment was $294.7 million in fiscal 2025, an increase of $55.6 million, or 23.2%, compared to fiscal 2024. Income before income taxes as a percent of revenue at 24.2%, increased from 22.4% in fiscal 2024 due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin.
Previous wording
Cash and cash equivalents as of May 31, 2024 and 2023, include $42.1 million and $29.9 million, respectively, that is located outside of the U.S.
Current wording
Cash and cash equivalents as of May 31, 2025 and 2024, include $57.8 million and $42.1 million, respectively, that is located outside of the U.S.
Previous wording
Net cash provided by operating activities was $2,079.8 million for fiscal 2024, which was an increase of $482.0 million, or 30.2%, compared to fiscal 2023. The increase was primarily the result of an increase in net income and favorable changes in working capital, specifically inventories, net and uniforms and other rental items in service and accounts receivable, net. These improvements were partially offset by unfavorable changes in working capital, primarily current liabilities and deferred income taxes.
Current wording
Net cash provided by operating activities was $2,165.9 million for fiscal 2025, which was an increase of $97.4 million, or 4.7%, compared to fiscal 2024. The increase was primarily the result of an increase in net income and favorable changes in working capital, primarily accounts payable and accrued compensation and related liabilities. These improvements were partially offset by unfavorable changes in working capital, specifically inventories, net, accounts receivable, net and uniforms and other rental items in service.
Previous wording
Net cash used in investing activities was $608.6 million in fiscal 2024, compared to $388.7 million in fiscal 2023. Net cash used in investing activities includes capital expenditures, purchases of investments and cash paid for acquisitions of businesses. Capital expenditures were $409.5 million and $331.1 million for fiscal 2024 and fiscal 2023, respectively. Capital expenditures for fiscal 2024 included $261.2 million for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment and $100.0 million for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment. The increase in capital expenditures from fiscal 2023 to fiscal 2024 was due to investments in the reportable operating segments to support continued revenue growth, an increase in equipment purchases, primarily trucks, due to vendors clearing backlogged orders, and spending associated with the SAP implementation in the Fire Protection Services operating segment, which is included in All Other. Cash paid for acquisitions of businesses, net of cash acquired, was $186.8 million and $46.4 million for fiscal 2024 and fiscal 2023, respectively. The acquisitions in both fiscal 2024 and 2023 occurred in our Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment, our First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and our Fire Protection operating segment, which is included in All Other. Net cash used in investing activities also included $7.5 million and $4.6 million of purchases of investments during fiscal 2024 and fiscal 2023, respectively.
Current wording
Net cash used in investing activities was $623.6 million in fiscal 2025, compared to $603.3 million in fiscal 2024. Net cash used in investing activities includes capital expenditures, purchases of investments and cash paid for acquisitions of businesses. These outflows were partially offset by proceeds from the sale of property. Capital expenditures were $408.9 million and $409.5 million for fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively. Capital expenditures for fiscal 2025 included $301.6 million for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment and $55.4 million for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment. Cash paid for acquisitions of businesses, net of cash acquired, was $232.9 million and $186.8 million for fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively. The acquisitions in both fiscal 2025 and 2024 occurred in our Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment, our First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and our Fire Protection operating segment, which is included in All Other. In addition, during fiscal 2025, Cintas received cash proceeds of $24.0 million related to the sale of property and equipment. Net cash used in investing activities also included $7.2 million and $7.5 million of purchases of investments during fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively.
Previous wording
Net cash used in financing activities was $1,253.5 million for fiscal 2024, compared to $1,172.8 million in fiscal 2023. The increase in cash used in financing activities was due to the increase in share buyback activity and dividends paid. These increases were partially offset by a decrease in payments of debt and commercial paper in fiscal 2024 compared to fiscal 2023.
Current wording
Net cash used in financing activities was $1,619.0 million for fiscal 2025, compared to $1,247.5 million in fiscal 2024. The increase in cash used in financing activities was due to the increase in repayment of debt, share buyback activity and an increase in dividends paid. These increases were partially offset by an increase in proceeds from the issuance of debt in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024.
Previous wording
On July 27, 2021, we announced the Board authorized a $1.5 billion share buyback program, which was completed during the fourth quarter of fiscal 2024. From the inception of the July 27, 2021 share buyback program through May 2024, Cintas purchased a total of 3.6 million shares of Cintas common stock at an average price of $421.77 per share for a total purchase price of $1.5 billion. On July 26, 2022, Cintas announced that the Board authorized a new $1.0 billion share buyback program, which does not have an expiration date. The following table summarizes the buyback activity by program and fiscal years ended May 31:
Current wording
Cintas announced on July 27, 2021, that the Board authorized a $1.5 billion share buyback program, which was completed during the fourth quarter of fiscal 2024. On July 26, 2022 and July 23, 2024, Cintas announced that the Board authorized new share buyback programs, each for $1.0 billion. Neither of the outstanding share buyback programs have an expiration date.
Previous wording
In the period subsequent to May 31, 2024, through July 25, 2024, under the July 26, 2022 share buyback plan, we purchased 0.7 million shares of Cintas common stock at an average price of $693.58 for a total purchase price of $473.6 million. From the inception of the July 26, 2022 share buyback program through July 25, 2024, Cintas has purchased 0.8 million shares of Cintas common stock in the aggregate, at an average price of $691.40 per share, for a total purchase price of $530.7 million.
Current wording
There were no share buybacks in the period subsequent to May 31, 2025, through July 28, 2025. From the inception of the July 26, 2022 share buyback program through July 28, 2025, Cintas has purchased 4.1 million shares of Cintas common stock in the aggregate, at an average price of $178.20 per share, for a total purchase price of $736.4 million. Cintas has made no purchases under the July 23, 2024 share buyback program.
Previous wording
During the fiscal year ended May 31, 2024, Cintas repurchased, and subsequently retired, $13.5 million of its 6.15%, 30-year senior notes. During the fiscal year ended May 31, 2023, Cintas paid $261.2 million, net of commercial paper. On April 17, 2023, in accordance with the terms of the notes, Cintas paid the $50.0 million aggregate principal amount outstanding of its 3.73%, private placement, 10-year senior notes that matured on that date with proceeds from short-term commercial paper issuance. The following table summarizes Cintas' outstanding debt at May 31:
Current wording
On April 15, 2025, in accordance with the terms of the senior notes, Cintas paid the $50.0 million aggregate principal amount outstanding of its 3.11%, private placement, 10-year senior notes that matured on that date with cash on hand. On May 1, 2025, in accordance with the terms of the senior notes, Cintas paid the $400.0 million aggregate principal outstanding of its 3.45%, 3-year senior notes that matured on that date with cash on hand. On May 2, 2025, Cintas issued $400.0 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes that bear an interest rate of 4.20% and mature on May 1, 2028.
Previous wording
Cintas Corporation No. 2 (Corp. 2) is the indirectly, wholly owned principal operating subsidiary of Cintas. Corp. 2 is the issuer of the $2,486.6 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes outstanding as of May 31, 2024, which are unconditionally guaranteed, jointly and severally, by Cintas Corporation and its wholly owned, direct and indirect domestic subsidiaries. See Note 6 entitled Debt, Derivatives and Hedging Activities of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements" for more information on Cintas' outstanding debt.
Current wording
Cintas Corporation No. 2 (Corp. 2) is the indirectly, wholly owned principal operating subsidiary of Cintas. Corp. 2 is the issuer of the $2,436.6 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes outstanding as of May 31, 2025, which are unconditionally guaranteed, jointly and severally, by Cintas Corporation and its wholly owned, direct and indirect domestic subsidiaries. See Note 6 entitled Debt, Derivatives and Hedging Activities of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements" for more information on Cintas' outstanding debt.
Previous wording
The following tables include summarized financial information of Cintas Corporation (Issuer), Corp. 2 and subsidiary guarantors (together, the Obligor Group). Investments in and equity in the earnings of non-guarantors, which are not members of the Obligor Group, have been excluded. Non-guarantor subsidiaries are located outside the U.S., and therefore, excluded from the Obligor Group.
Current wording
The following tables include summarized financial information of Cintas Corporation, Corp. 2 (issuer) and subsidiary guarantors (together, the Obligor Group). Investments in and equity in the earnings of non-guarantors, which are not members of the Obligor Group, have been excluded. Non-guarantor subsidiaries are located outside the U.S., and therefore, excluded from the Obligor Group.
Previous wording
Cintas also makes payments to defined contribution plans and may make payments to defined benefit plans to satisfy minimum funding requirements. The amount of contributions made to the defined contribution plans are at the discretion of the Board. Future contributions to the defined contribution plans are expected to be $125.3 million in the next fiscal year, $269.6 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $297.3 million in the next four to five fiscal years. Future contributions to the defined benefit plans are expected to be $5.1 million in the next fiscal year, $4.7 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $4.7 million in the next four to five fiscal years.
Current wording
Cintas also makes payments to defined contribution plans and may make payments to defined benefit plans to satisfy minimum funding requirements. The amount of contributions made to the defined contribution plans are at the discretion of the Board. Future contributions to the defined contribution plans are expected to be $141.2 million in the next fiscal year, $304.0 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $335.1 million in the next four to five fiscal years. Future contributions to the defined benefit plans are expected to be $2.5 million in the next fiscal year, $10.0 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $8.4 million in the next four to five fiscal years.
Previous wording
In November 2023, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) issued Accounting Standards Update (ASU) 2023-07, Segment Reporting (Topic 280), Improvements to Reportable Segment Disclosures(ASU 2023-07). ASU 2023-07 requires additional disclosures pertaining to significant expenses and other items of an entity’s reportable operating segments. ASU 2023-07 is effective for annual periods beginning after December 15, 2023 (fiscal 2025). Early adoption is permitted. The Company is currently evaluating the impact of ASU 2023-07 on the consolidated financial statements.
Current wording
In November 2023, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) issued Accounting Standards Update (ASU) 2023-07, Segment Reporting (Topic 280), Improvements to Reportable Segment Disclosures(ASU 2023-07). ASU 2023-07 requires additional disclosures pertaining to significant expenses that are regularly provided to the CODM and other items of an entity’s reportable operating segments. This standard was adopted by Cintas on May 31, 2025 and did not have a material impact on the Company's consolidated financial statements.
Previous wording
Insurance reserve. The insurance reserve represents the estimated ultimate cost of all asserted and unasserted claims (incurred but not reported), primarily related to workers' compensation, auto liability and other general liability exposure through the consolidated balance sheet dates. Our incurred but not reported reserves are estimated through actuarial procedures, with the assistance of third-party actuarial specialists, of the insurance industry and by using industry assumptions, adjusted for specific expectations based on our claims history. Cintas records an increase or decrease in selling and administrative expenses related to development of prior claims, higher claims activity and other environmental factors in the period in which it becomes known. These changes in estimates may be material to the consolidated financial statements.
Current wording
Insurance reserve. The insurance reserve represents the estimated ultimate cost of all asserted and unasserted claims (incurred but not reported), primarily related to workers' compensation, auto liability and other general liability exposure through the consolidated balance sheet dates. Our incurred but not reported reserves are estimated through actuarial procedures, with the assistance of third-party actuarial specialists, of the insurance industry and by using industry assumptions, adjusted for specific expectations based on our claims history. Cintas records an increase or decrease in selling and administrative expenses related to development of prior claims, higher claims activity and other industry factors in the period in which it becomes known. These changes in estimates may be material to the consolidated financial statements.
Rearranged current paragraphs (2)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
The following table summarizes the share buyback activity by program and fiscal years ended May 31:
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
During the fiscal year ended May 31, 2024, Cintas repurchased and subsequently retired, $13.5 million of its 6.15%, 30-year senior notes. In conjunction with these transactions, Cintas recognized a loss of $0.9 million, which is recorded in interest expense on the consolidated statement of income for the fiscal year ended May 31, 2024. The following table summarizes Cintas' outstanding debt at May 31: